1. Home
  2. Getting Started Videos
  3. User types & permissions

User types & permissions

In Project.co, there are different types of user, with different levels of permissions.

From the “People” page hit “Create New User” to add a user to your account.

Complete the form, with First Name, Last Name, Email Address, Time Zone (optional), and upload a Photo (optional) if you like. When you’re done, hit Save.

User type

On the next page you’ll be able to nominate whether the new user is a Team Member, Contractor or Client. This determines which tasks, projects and data they’re able to access. You’ll see a basic outline of their permissions in the text box above the ‘Select’ button.

To learn more about user roles and permissions see the roles & permissions chart here.

A Team member is an internal member of your team. This person will usually be a full or part time member of your team who has general access to your account.

A Contractor is a freelancer or person who does work for you on select projects. This person is counted as an internal user as they work for your team but they will only have access to projects they are allocated to and won’t be able to see any other projects.

A Client is a person from a company you undertake work for. This person is counted as an external user and will only be able to see projects allocated to their company.

User role

If you’re setting up a new Team member – someone who works full-time within your business – you can also nominate what their role is: Team, Manager or Account Owner. Again, these are decisions which determine their access to projects and ability to edit settings. As you’d expect, Account Owners have greater visibility and control than Managers, who in turn can do more than a Team member.

To learn more about user roles and permissions see the roles & permissions chart here.

Team – This user role provides access to all projects that have standard privacy settings. They won’t be able to invite new people to the account, but can add existing people within the account to projects.

Manager – This user role allows the user to invite new people to the account and edit and delete comments from the discussion page as well.

Account Owner – This user role has full access to the account including account settings.

User settings

Finally, you can decide on settings for your users based on each of the below:

  • Group – Groups are, essentially, a way for you to categorise individuals together into teams or departments. Find out more about groups here.
  • Add to projects by default – If you select “yes” here, this user will be added to all projects by default, as soon as they’re created. This saves you the time of manually adding them to every project, and is particularly useful for managers or leaders who need to have oversight across all projects.
  • Task colours – This determines what the user’s tasks will look like in the colour-coded calendar and scheduler views.
  • Status – Internal users can be set as “active” or “inactive.” Active users count towards internal user limits for your account and function as normal. An inactive user won’t be able to login or access any projects – but their account, and all associated data, remains dormant and can be reactivated in the future as needed. An inactive user also won’t count toward your internal user limit so it can be useful to switch between active and inactive if you’re balancing people who work occasionally such as contractors or freelancers and trying to keep your costs down. This is often preferable to deleting users, which deletes all their data. For example, if you work with a variety of different freelancers, you can deactivate and reactivate them as needed.
Updated on May 14, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support