1. Home
  2. Getting Started Videos
  3. Create & manage tasks

Create & manage tasks

The master tasks page can be accessed from the left hand sidebar. From here you can see all tasks that have been allocated to you. This view shows you everything you need to do ordered by date.

You can also change this view to show all tasks that have been allocated to anyone on your team. This view makes it easy to see everything your whole team has to do.

Tasks can be shown in one of 4 different views. The default is list view but there is also calendar view which shows tasks on a monthly calendar. Scheduler which shows tasks grouped by the person they are allocated to and date. This is fantastic for understanding team capacity and scheduling. And kanban which shows tasks grouped by their status. This is great for understanding where tasks are in your process.

You can filter the tasks page by clicking the filter button at the top right of the page. You can then select from a range of different options and save so you see just the tasks you want to see. And this works the same across all 4 views.

Tasks show in the same way from within a project. If you go into a project and click on the tasks page you’ll see you start on the list view and can change to the other views in the same way. The main difference with viewing tasks from within a project is that you’ll only see tasks that are part of that project.

You also have an extra option from within a project. At the top right of the page you’ll see a button called “Show completed tasks”. If this is switched on you’ll see completed tasks as well. This is useful for seeing what has already been done on a project.

To create a new task click on the “Create A New Task” button at the top left of the page if you’re on the tasks page already. Or if you’re on any other page in your account click on the “Create New” button at the top right of any page and then “Task”. This will bring up the task pop up.

The first and only required option in here is the task name. I’d recommend giving your task a descriptive name so you know what it is when you’re looking at it one of the 4 task views.

You then have a row of options below. I’ll go through each one by one.

Firstly you have the date. This is a date range so it always has a start and end date. However for single-day tasks,  you can select the same date for the start and end. To do that. click into the field and you’ll see a 2 month calendar pop up. Choose your start date with your first click and then the end date with your second click. Once you have the right dates selected click “Apply”. If you don’t select a date then the task will be created without a date.

The person section lets you choose who to allocate the task to. Whenever you select a person the group will be updated based on which group that user belongs to. You can also specify a different group from the default by simply changing the option in the drop down. Specifying a group lets you filter all tasks by group so you can see tasks not only by the person they are allocated to but also by group. This can be great for seeing all tasks a specific group of users – like a particular team or department in your business – have to complete within a particular time period.

The status section lets you define the status for the task. These statuses are set in the account settings but can also be defined on a project by project basis from the “Task Settings” page of a task. This lets you see where your task is up to in your process.

The task type section lets you define the visibility of a task to external client users. This is useful so you can let external clients users see tasks that you want them to see such as deliverables, milestones and due dates and hide tasks you don’t want them to see such as chases or internal only tasks. If you specify a task type that is hidden from external users then they won’t see that on any task view. It will only be visible to internal users.

The note section lets you write any notes you have about this task. It’s useful to write more information about what needs to be done on the task. This information can be formatted using the formatting bar and you can also include a checklist from here so you can create a list of sub tasks.

The files section lets you upload any files as attachments to the task. Files you upload to tasks will also show in the main files page for internal users to see but they will be hidden from external users as external users don’t have access to open tasks.

Finally, the chat section lets you have a discussion with people on a task by task basis. Simply write your comment and click to post and your comment will be added to the comment feed. Anyone who is notified about the task being updated will receive the comment by email.

You can choose to notify people about tasks being updated by checking the “Notify people” checkbox. This will let you specify the people you’d like to notify about any changes you make to the task. They will be sent an email with information about what data has been changed to what.

To open and edit an existing task you can click on the task name in any of the views. On the list view you can also see more information about the task such as it’s status and whether it has a note, a type and it’s allocated user. If you click on any of these options then it will open the task with that option showing so you can change it quickly.

External users can only see task names and their due date. This is the view they will see. This lets them understand what will be delivered and when but they can’t open tasks so when they click on the task name nothing happens. This means they can’t open or edit tasks. They also can’t create new tasks. For more information about what external users can and can’t do search for “permissions” on our support pages to see the roles and permissions chart.

Updated on June 1, 2020

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles

Need Support?
Can’t find the answer you’re looking for? Don’t worry we’re here to help!
Contact Support