A task is an activity, reminder, or piece of work to be done. It has to be associated with a particular project, and can also be given a due date and assigned to a particular person.
Every task you create has a range of different options:
Specifying a date for a task is optional. If you do specify a date then the task will show under a date header in the list view and it will also show on the calendar and scheduler view. If you don’t specify a date then the task will still show in the list view in the “No Date” section and the Kanban view but it won’t show in the calendar or scheduler views.
If you’ve set up your account to allow you to specify a time for your tasks and a timezone then you’ll also be able to set the due time for the task and the relevant timezone to apply when you create your task.
When you specify a date you need to set a start date and an end date. If the start and end dates are different then the task will be set over that date range. If the dates are the same then the task will be a 1 day task.
A task can only be allocated to 1 person.
A task can only be allocated to internal users or people on “Your Team”. External or client users can’t open tasks, they can only see the task names and dates so tasks can’t be allocated to external users.
The person is the person on your team who you want to allocate the task to. When allocate a task to someone it will show in their “My Tasks” page as the task is then allocated to them.
The task status is a customisable stage for your task. All accounts have the default task statuses of “Open” and “Complete”.
You can configure your own task statuses along with custom names, colours and order in your account settings page.
The task type lets you set the visibility to external users. Every account has the default task statuses of “Visible to external users” and “Hidden from external users”.
When you specify a task status of “Visible to external users” the task will be visible on the list and calendar view to external client users. This is great for deliverables or tasks that schedule work out that you want clients to see.
When you specify a task status of “Hidden from external users” the task will be hidden from external users and they won’t see it anywhere. This is great for tasks where you plan to chasing up a client for information or feedback. You don’t want them to see this type of task.
This section provides a WYSIWYG editor so you can add notes along with styling, bullet points, numbering and links. You can also use the checklist button to create a checkable checklist on each task.
You can upload files of any common type to Project.co. Simply drag and drop files into the dropzone or click browse to find the files using the file system on your computer. We accept files of up to 200mb at a time.
Any files that have been uploaded will show above the drop zone. When you click a file link it will be automatically downloaded to your computer.
The chat or discussion section on a task lets you chat with any internal users who have been allocated to a project. Simply write a comment and submit. The comment will be posted and if you selected to notify people then they will be notified about the comment.
Other people who are part of the project are able to comment any reply. This is a great way to have a conversation about a specific task with only people from your internal team. External client users can’t open tasks so they can’t see the chat section of tasks.
The project option lets you decide which project the task is allocated to. Every task must be allocated to 1 project and can only be allocated to 1 project.
You’ll only see the option to change the project a task is allocated to if you create or edit a task from the main tasks page. The option won’t show when you create or edit a task from within a project.