Whenever you login to Project.co, you’ll land on the Projects List page. This is a list of all your ongoing projects. You’ll see the project name, its status, its reference, and the value of any payments that have been invoiced (if you have payments turned on in your account settings).
The navigation menu on the far left of the screen – which we call the main menu – takes you to each high-level page within Project.co.
It gives you a high-level overview of all your projects, all your tasks, all your people, all your companies, all your time and all your reports. It gives a great high-level overview across all ongoing projects.
To drill down into the specifics of an individual project, you just need to click that project from the project list.
Once inside a project, you’ll find a set of tools for you to use. These are navigated from the contextual menu, as shown below.
The default view when you land on a project is the Dashboard. This shows you a little bit of information from each page of your project. You can navigate to each page using the left hand sidebar or the buttons in the boxes.
This is where you’ll see all the essential details about a project – start date, current status, business name, project name, project details and any attached files. These details are all provided during project setup, but they can be edited by hitting the “Edit Project Details” button at any time.
Discussion is where you’ll find all conversation and messages on a project.
In the Notes section, internal users can see important notes and information regarding a project. Notes aren’t visible to clients – which makes this a great area to record sensitive and important details, away from client view.
Tasks is an area where each “thing to do” is recorded. You’ll see each task name, status, and a profile photo of the user responsible for the task, presented in chronological order beneath their due date. Different views of the Task section are available – we cover that in more detail here.
The People section will show you who’s involved in a particular project, giving you the option to see both internal and external team members. You’ll see their profile photo, name and email address. The Emails field shows you whether they’re receiving email notifications for this project or not, and the Remove button gives you the option to delete them from the project if necessary. You can also add new users here with the Add People link on each side.
Payments is the area where you’ll see all payments that have been added to the project. From here you can also mark existing payments as “paid” manually or delete them.
Time lets you compare the hours you allocated to a project with the hours that were actually spent on it – a simple, but powerful, way to measure productivity and profitability. To add allocated hours to a project simply click “Edit Allocated Hours” and enter your hours allocation on a group by group basis. To record actual time you need to go to the main “Time” page and add a new time entry. This will then show on the “Actual” time row.
The Settings screen lets you create a set of custom task statuses for a single project. This feature recognises that some projects will need to go through different stages to others. An example here is that most of your projects follow the same task process but you have the odd project that you want to manage differently.