1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. Contents
  4. Account Settings
  5. Account setup wizard

Account setup wizard

The first step in defining your “Account Settings” is the “Account Setup Wizard” – our guided setup process, which you can access right after creating your account. This helps you get all the essentials set up as quickly as possible.

Click the ‘Start the account setup wizard’ link in the green bar at the top of the page.

Profile photo

Next, you have the opportunity to upload a profile picture.

Note: You can skip any step if you want to come back to it later – just hit “Click here to skip this step” at the bottom of the screen.

Upload a picture in the normal way; hit “Browse,” locate the file on your computer and upload it. 

Groups

Next you’ll be able to create groups. Groups are a useful way to categorise your internal team. They’re essentially the different departments/teams within your business.

You need to have at least one group. The default group is simply called “General.” You can delete this group, you’d need to create a new one first, as all accounts need to have a minimum of one group created.

To add a new group, click the “Add a New Group” button and simply write the name of the group in the resulting box. Click ‘OK’ and your group is created. 

There’s no limit to the number of groups you can create.

You can change the order of your groups using drag and drop. Just click and drag your chosen group to its preferred position in the list. This determines what order your groups show in any list you use them in throughout the system.

You can also delete groups – although, if you do want to do this, you need to nominate a “replacement” group for all people, projects, tasks, etc. that are associated with that group first.

When you’re done, hit “Next Step.”

Project statuses

Next, it’s time to create your project statuses. Project statuses are the steps that your projects typically go through on their way to completion.

Again, this is optional – two mandatory statuses, ‘Open’ and ‘Closed’ are automatically selected in every Project.co account, and you can leave it at that if you wish. 

But creating more project statuses that align with your process will help you use Project.co’s visual task and project management tools more accurately to gauge where projects are up to – identifying bottlenecks and opportunities. It also makes it easier for you to find projects once you’re up and running, as you can filter projects by status.

To add to your list of project statuses, click “Add a Project Status.”

Enter a name for your project status, then specify the background and text colours for how this status will be visually represented within the system.

Once you’re done, the new entry will apply in your project status list.

If you need to change the order of your Project Statuses, simply drag and drop them to your preferred position in the list. This will determine the order they appear in elsewhere within the system.

When you’re happy with the Project Statuses you’ve chosen, hit the “Next Step” button.

Payment settings

Next up is your Payment settings. The first, and most obvious choice, is whether you actually want to take payments through your Project.co account. 

If you select “No” then no further information is needed!

But if you click “Yes,” you’ll then have the option to integrate your payment provider – whether it’s Stripe or SagePay. Just click “Edit Integration Details” to integrate your chosen payment provider, and enter the details into the resulting menus.

Tax rates

The next step is to set up tax rates for your account. You’ll only need to do this if you answered “Yes” to accepting payments through Project.co.

To set your tax rates, click “Add a New Tax Rate.” Nominate the tax rate as a percentage, add a description (e.g. UK VAT.) Hit “OK” and you’re done. You can repeat this process to add as many different tax rates as you might need.

Note: A 0% tax rate is added by default and always available so it doesn’t need to be added manually.

Time

Next, the wizard will ask whether you want to record time in the account or not. This is a simple “yes” or “no” question. (And remember, you can always revisit this setting later.)

User settings

Finally, it’s time to decide on your own personal user settings for your individual user account.

You can nominate which group(s) you want to be a part of, indicate whether you should be added to all new projects by default, and then select background and text colours for tasks associated with your account on the calendar and scheduler views.

Once you hit save, that’s it: you’re done! Your account has all the basic settings needed to successfully create and manage projects.

Was this article helpful? Yes No

How can we help?